It could be…

Standard

It could be so much worse.

I have pity parties.

I whine, I moan, I complain.

I whine because I hate pumping.

I moan when I see dirty dishes (yet I hate washing them).

I complain when things don’t go my way.

And yet, it could be so much worse.

Every week we take the hour and three quarter drive to the Children’s Hospital.

We rush to get there, and then we wait. And wait, and wait.

But it could be so much worse.

I get sad, when asked why I’m not nursing my baby.

I feel guilt when I get angry at my pump, even though I am blessed because 1) I can pump and 2) I have the pump for free, and can keep it as long as I want.

I know it could be so much worse.

There are times, when I am explaining to others about Arlo’s condition were they get this look of pity.

Yet, I know it could be so much worse.

He could have Pierre Robin syndrome, he could be completely deaf*, he could have various other medical issues, and yet he doesn’t.

It could be so much worse.

I praise Him for giving me my perfect baby boy. I praise Him for giving me an amazing medical team. Most of all, I praise Him for giving me this sense of peace.

This song is my favourite hymn.

Praise God,

 from Whom all blessings flow;

Praise Him, all creatures here below;

Praise Him above, ye Heavenly Host;

Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

 Amen.

* at this point Arlo can’t hear, due to fluid in his ears. We are praying that with the help of ear tubes he will be able to hear.

Leave a Reply

