Talentless Dreaming Mama

Standard

I have always been a dreamer.

When I was little I dreamt of being famous. A famous actress like Audrey Hepburn or an amazing singer like Shania Twain (stop judging me. I still love her.) I also had a very short-lived dream of being a marine biologist. That is until I realized you had to actually touch fish, then I quickly changed my mind.

When I was a teen I dreamt of being a professional photographer, and a seamstress and a nurse and a midwife.

It was never ending. I want(ed) to do anything and everything. My moms’ favourite (or so I thought) sentence to say to me “research it” which always resulted in me deciding not to do it. Not because she didn’t want me to do it, but because they knew that as soon as I really truly looked into it I would realize that I only liked it for the appeal of it. I mean how awesome does saying “I have a double degree in Nursing and Midwifery” I think it sounds effing awesome.

Speaking of awesome, my younger brothers’ favourite joke/riddle right now is

“How do you fit and elephant into a safeway bag”

“How?”

“You take the ‘S’ out of Safe,

and the ‘F’ out of way”

“There’s no F in way”

Clearly this is only funny when my mother “solved” it.

As an adult I feel like I should have all my ducks in a row. Be able to do anything and everything. But naturally, I can’t. I can’t paint a beautiful mural on my living room wall free hand. Would I like to be able to. Of course. Have I tried yet? No, I think HotBabyDaddy would kill/beat me frown upon it. I can’t knit and make a profit, but if you would like I’m sure I could make you a beautiful scarf. Some might call scarf making my knitting niche.

My dreams right now? Photography still is on the list. So is blogging. And taking evening classes in the City.

Some days I think Roger Hodgson (Supertramp) said it best

Dreamer

Dreamer, you know you are a dreamer
Well can you put your hands in your head, oh no!

Leave a Reply

