Got my groove back.

Standard

As a new mom I found that I was sinking. Fast. Not necessarily postpartum depression fast. But at an alarming rate non-the-less. Nothing I could do with the baby was right, the house was never clean (still really isn’t) and anything that my husband said to me made me feel guilty. Not because he was trying to make me feel guilty but because I was so sleep deprived and took everything he said as bad. Really bad.

On any given day I could go from the happy wonderful person that I am (haha apparently I am humble too)  to a sad miserable woman that scares me. The only joy that I could find was in my son.

Maybe it was/is ppd. On the ppd test that they do at the clinic, I was 1 point off from being sent to a psychologist.

Now not to say that I am back to my pre-baby awesomeness, but I can see the sun shining through the clouds.

Things that have helped.

Sleep. I need it. I don’t function unless I have stupid amounts of sleep. I’m not even going to tell you how much I need just to survive. For fear of being scoffed at.  Only now am I starting to get my baby into a real nap schedule. I just started reading “The 90-minute baby sleep program”by Polly Moore, PH.D and so far it is amazing. I had no idea that my baby needed more sleep.

A balanced diet. I never really had a problem with missing a meal or eating junk food. High metabolism + physically demanding job, meant that I was skinny. Now that I’m no longer working (aside from being Little T’s Mama) I really need to pick healthy things to eat. That and I’m a human cow, nursing makes me ravenously hungry. I need to put the doughnut down (who bought these stupid delicious things?!) and eat a carrot. Or two.

Exercising. Oh how I hate it. It really does help with the way that I feel about myself. And besides, what does Elle Woods say in Legally Blonde? “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t.” Oh how I love that movie…

How have you gotten your groove back?  Are you still fighting to get it back? Leave me some comment love, or tweet about it @Kaitevans

Leave a Reply

